Tony Field, Editor

Before launching Bunk, Tony was the founding senior producer of BackStory, where he helped pioneer new approaches to bridging scholarship and storytelling. He is a longtime public radio and podcast producer, having worked with On the Media, Radiolab, and Slate, among others.

Edward Ayers, Executive Director

Ed is executive director of New American History. He has been named National Professor of the Year, received the National Humanities Medal from President Obama at the White House, served as president of the Organization of American Historians, won the Bancroft, Beveridge, and Lincoln prizes for his writing, and shared the Jameson and Rosenzweig prizes for digital teaching projects. He is a co-host of the podcast BackStory, and is university professor and president emeritus at the University of Richmond.

Content Wranglers

We depend on many hours of behind-the-scenes work by students at the University of Richmond. Our current team includes Nat Berry, Joanna Hejl, Gabby Kiser, Parker Phillips, and Jason Cai.

Since 2017, these students have also contributed to the project: Flannery O’Rourke, Colin Pohlman, Callie Anderson, Kayra Isyar, Meghna Melkote, Alexis Hills, Hunter Moyler, Tucker Shelley, Kristi Mukk, Dominique Harrington, Benjamin Pomerantz, Dave Fishman, Sam Garrison, Mallory Haskins, Charlotte Hawkins, Lauren Isley, Brandon Johnson, Ryan McEvoy, Madeleine Philips, Miranda Rosenblum, Claire Tate, and Savannah Wilson.

Bunk was designed and built by Journey Group.